Starry ideas:Things I gave a star to in the past week

In recent times I have begun reading Daniel Pink’s book called A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule The Future. I’m only just beginning but something that he writes early on triggered me to think about the information we access – the how, why, when, from whom. But most of all, the amount of information we access came into consideration. What do we do with this information? How do we use it? What do we use?  How do we adapt? When do we disregard?

“ We are moving from an economy and a society built on the logical, liner, computerlike capabilities of the Information Age to an economy and society built on the inventive, empathetic, big-picture capabilities of what’s rising in its place, the Conceptual Age.” (Pink, 2005, pp.1-2)

I was thinking about Chat with Rellypops and links with Twitter. The access to content is one of the reasons I am a huge advocate of this social media. I’ve blogged often in the previous 12 months in relation to Is there a place for Twitter in pre-service teachers lives? Introducing social media into Teacher Education, Project #pstn: engaging pre-service teachers in the Twitterverse, Observations of young adults: Welcome to the Twitterverse, Have you got your Twitter sneakers on? A question of ettiquette…, Education Hashtags – Which ones inspire you?, and Why I participate in AcWriMo (Academic Writing Month). In each post my thinking about the blog topic has been directly linked to or connected to Twitter and how it has been strongly linked to communication, contexts, and connections.

I’m wondering now about the information I access. What do I do with it? My favourite list marked with a star is often a long list of resources and information that interests me personally or connects to the work I do in education. Sometimes I go back, other times I don’t. Sometimes I bookmark the links, share them with others, but often I forget about them. I often adapt the content, put it into practice, or refer it to someone else. But often my access to this information is just a part of a process of my thinking at that moment in time; links to my thinking, conceptualizing, adapting, disregarding, applying, analyzing, and so on. Pink inspired me to think about the information I access via Twitter and I began to think about where I keep this information. I decided that these ideas would be useful to blog about, then I have a reference point to return to, share with others, and use in my conceptualization of ideas about learning and teaching. A renewed step in the process of ideas and inspiration.

So in sharing this, you’ll see my thinking and perhaps interact with it as well. What I’m working on will most likely influence what information stands out to me, but the information shared will connect to the bigger picture of forever learning. Life long learning, if you like. How I present this will also develop over time, for the moment I’m categorising by broad themes with direct copy of the Tweets that resonated with me. Let me know what you think, perhaps even suggest other ways to organise the information.

Quotes and thoughts to inspire

micheleborba

Children are..little scientists who are constantly creating & testing their own theories of the world.~Piaget

Womenworking
Put self-care top of the list. You are more important than your responsibilities.

Womenworking
Let more joy into your life. See the world through a child’s eyes and experience wonder.

brainpicker
It is a sign of great inner insecurity to be hostile to the unfamiliar.”

thegoalcontrol
“Focus on where you want to go, not on what you fear.” ~ Anthony Robbins

Arts Education

_luisfperez
Making in the classroom: Decades of research confirm that making and doing things cement knowledge in way

Curiosity and Wonder rubric

ArtsEdTech
Replace clay with iPaded 123D Sculpt for iPad on the iT

OKArtsCouncil
Want to write a better #arts grant? 

Sheffield68
via @Edudemic: Music needs to be an important Part Of Your Classroom

rmbyrne
Create Picture Stories With PicView 

Learning and Teaching (L&T)

gregwhitby
What Will Education Look Like in 2020?

Museum/Gallery L&T

interactivate
More museum applications (apps)

 L&T with technology

eyeoneducation
9 iPad Tutorials Teachers Shouldn’t Miss

iPodsibilities
The Complete Guide to Evernote in Education 

jackiegerstein
Effects of Technology on Classrooms and Students - changing roles

interactivate

More museum apps - this time a review of two apps from AMNH

djplaner
“‘the problem of getting teachers aware of IT will soon be phased out as all new entrants will soon have IT expertise” – (Baker, 1988)

jackiegerstein
Transforming Online Learning through Narrative and Student Agency http://t.co/lDLF3VDA
3/01/13 12:19 PM

 

 

 

References

Pink, D. (2005). A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule The Future. New York: Penguin Group Inc.

Leave a Reply

