Renewing and reinvigorating to work smarter

AristotleOver the end of year period I stopped. I think it was the first time in over 12 months that I actually truly stopped to reinvigorate my body and my mind, and most importantly to reflect about how I wanted to approach this new year. Some might call it a new year’s resolution but for me it is not this. It is so much more.

The time away from my work, colleagues, university space, and research was required. I was exhausted. My time away was about renewing and reinvigorating how I want to take care of myself so I can continue to do what I love. A part of this was a stopping and rethinking how I would do this. The stopping was the most important part of this process. Then I decided I would read about how others do this. How can we renew and reinvigorate our ways of working so that we can be smarter in our approaches? I was searching for some triggers that will reconnect me to approaches that are caring to my mind and body while also providing me with new ways of working. The article I read that most captured my attention was 12 Weekend Habits of Highly Successful People. This is what I learnt…

We are what we repeatedly doExcellencethen, is not an actbut a habit.” – Aristotle

  1. The mind is the freshest in the morning so utilise these most productive hours.
  2. Purposefully plan.
  3. Align goals and tasks for the day with a focus on 2 key items to be achieved per day.
  4. Make time to exercise each day. Find the sport or activity that you like.
  5. Exercise assists in counteracting the work dinners.
  6. Spend time with those who you care for – this is just as important as work deadlines.
  7. Make the time to spend with friends and family.
  8. Practicing mindfulness and meditation is a daily advantage to assist the mind, thinking and how you approach life.
  9. Resist FOMO (fear of missing out) and focus on JOMO (the joy of missing out) – for example, is it really that important to check your email late at night, first thing in the morning and on the weekend? Resist the checking and find balance.
  10. Give back and be generous. Re-energize your thinking in other areas.
  11. Use the weekend to do all the other things you love alongside of your work. Activity and reflection are the key to becoming refreshed to continue to work productively.
  12. Look after yourself and you must find balance.
Leave a Reply

